Yarns of Many Colors

I was driving home from work this week when it suddenly hit me–I’ve never posted pictures of my 2014 yarns purchases to Ravelry, much less the blog! I’ve even taken pictures of most of it, so no good excuse. (Although a good thing I have pictures as it’s been so terribly overcast lately that getting anything decent is a challenge.) I still have one tricky skein without any pictures, so that will wait until I have a sunny day, but for now, my 2014 yarn record:

Lotus (Trendsetter) Mimi, ecru

Lotus (Trendsetter): Mimi
Laceweight
100% mink
(2) skeins at 383 yards (50 g) each
Colorway: Ecru
Purchased:Prena Knits, at JOYfilled Garden and Gifts in Georgetown, South Carolina

A vacation purchase. I don’t know what it’s going to be, but I couldn’t resist the soft, creamy, mink.

Bare Naked Wools: Mrs. Lincoln's Lace

Bare Naked Wools: Mrs. Lincoln’s Lace
Laceweight
70% black Lincoln lamb wool/30% Rambouillet wool
(1) skein at 675 yards (4 oz.)
Colorway: chesnutt
Purchased: Great Lakes Fiber Show

Confession: I’d completely forgotten that I’d purchased this. Even though it was the ONE YARN I wanted to find at the local yarn/fiber show this past spring! I don’t yet know what it will become, but Anne has several samples in her displays.

 

Knitting Notions Classic Merino Lace

Knitting Notions: Classic Merino Lace
Laceweight
100% superfine merino wool
(2) skeins at 385 yards (50 g) each
Colorway: Blueberry Jam (discontinued)
Purchased: Great Lakes Fiber Show

These little (okay, at 385 yards, not so little) skeins weren’t exactly a planned purchase, but they weren’t really impulse either. I knew Catherine had discontinued several colorways and so I wanted to look at the sales to see if anything caught my eye. Non-superwash merino and I don’t always get along (I’m very good at felting it on the knitting needles), but I couldn’t pass the colorway up at the price! (On the other hand, a theme: I don’t know what I’m going to do with it. I may have a problem.)

 

Longmeadow Farm 100% Merino Wool

The Wool Room at Longmeadow Farm: Hand Dyed 100% American Merino Wool
Worsted weight
(5) skeins at 250 yards (3.75 oz) each
Colors (unnamed): rose, light orange, yellow, lime, blue
Purchased: Great Lakes Fiber Show

This was the impulse but. But can you blame me–the colors! And when I saw it my thought was– blanket! I’ve been thinking for a few years that I’d like to knit a blanket/lap blanket of some sort as an excuse to work with colors (yellow, pale green) I can’t really wear. And when I saw these all hanging up next to each other…I was a goner. I don’t know the details yet (I’m thinking something garter stitch, possibly based on the golden rectangle), but I’m saving them for that point of winter when it gets so terribly gray and gloomy and I just.can’t.take.it.anymore. Not necessarily in 2015, but some winter. The yarns just scream “SPRING” so they will be just the thing when it feels that spring will never come.

And now I’m feeling the urge to knit. Wonder why?

One thought on “Yarns of Many Colors

Comments are closed.