Finished, Boxleaf Shawl

Boxleaf Shawl overallBoxleaf Shawl tail detail Boxleaf Shawl join detail Boxleaf Shawl closeupPattern: Boxleaf Triangle by Anne Hanson (Ravelry)
Yarn: Brooklyn Handspun Soft Spun Plus, Colorway “Winter Wind,” (1) skeinNeedles: US5/ 3.75mm

I started this shawl back in February during the Sochi Olympics, and by the time I finally wove in the last end and remembered that I should actually block it for use, it was August. I have a problem remembering to block lace, it seems! Boxleaf proved the perfect TV knitting–not so complex that I couldn’t follow a show (or Olympic event as the case might be), but with just enough interest I didn’t get bored. I knit the “mini” size, but added one pattern repeat to maximize yarn usage. Actually the way the pattern is designed, sizing is practically irrelevant as the top edge and the body are knit at the same time and it has no special outer border–just knit as many repeats as you like. My one-skein version makes the perfect neck shawl to keep my shoulders from getting too cold on a chilly day.

Of course, now that I look this post over, I’m wondering why I didn’t get any closeups of the top edge–it’s a lovely little leaf that you can’t quite make out in my pictures. Sigh. Something to fix another day…

One thought on “Finished, Boxleaf Shawl

Comments are closed.