Potential

One of the consequences of not really getting anything finished in the past year (well, at a VERY slow rate), is that my stash has reached all sorts of well-past-STABLE proportions. Fortunately, it’s still not very big, but it’s enough that I probably shouldn’t buy any yarn this year. Or next. Unless I start making some serious progress! And that’s a problem, because a) there’s at least one project on my really-want-to-knit list for which I don’t already have suitable yarn and b) there’s a couple yarns I’d really like to try out. And one of these, I believe, is going to be available at this spring’s (end of May) Great Lakes Fiber Show. I’d consider not going this year, as I only ever end up buying too much yarn. There are such pretty things, always that I can’t resist! For instance, last year:

DSCN8746
Briar Rose Fibers: Stella; 80% Merino, 20% Silk; 2200 yards.

This would make a lovely shawl. That would take forever to knit.

DSCN8744
Knitting Notions: Classic Merino Bamboo; light fingering; 65% Merino, 35% Bamboo; Colorway “Azure”; 490 yards.

I really like knitting with this blend. But I don’t have a clue what I’m going to knit with it, just that I had a vague notion that it would make a nice shoulder shawl. Which it would. If I had a pattern.

DSCN8745
Knitting Notions: Classic Merino Bamboo; light fingering; 65% Merino, 35% Bamboo; Colorway “Ironstone”; 490 yards.

Well, at least I have a plan for this. (I think. I might not have enough yarn)

DSCN8743
Fiber Optic Yarns: Merino Bamboo Lace; 50% Bamboo, 50% Merino; Colorway “Hot Tomato Batik”; 1000 yards.

   And the complete impulse buy. (At least all the other yarns I’ve knit with yarns from the vendor before so I could be certain I’d like them.) Not a clue what this will become. But it’s 1000 yards!

And I haven’t touched a one since. Which is also true of my purchases from my previous visit. And I’m pretty sure the time before that, as well. Yet chances are I’ll be back this year. On the other hand, when I look at my pictures–or my stash, either works–they all remain so tempting. So at least I have no regrets! I also have the consolation of knowing that my current almost-finished knit (yay!) is of a yarn I purchased years ago and when I was sorting through my projects and my stash looking for something to work on was just the perfect thing. Which I suppose is how we end up with such big stashes in the first place: all that lovely potential for “later.”

Of course, it would help if I didn’t do silly things like turn this:

DSCN5192
An early picture of my Lerwick lace stole.

Into this:

DSCN8833
Well, it used to be one-quarter of the Lerwick lace edging.

Not on my most recent project toss, but last summer going through the basket, I decided that Lerwick needed restarted. Nothing wrong with what I had done–and it was several yards of work–, but I had neglected it for so long that in the interim my gauge had changed. I decided the simplest course of action was to rip the whole thing out and wait to restart once I was ready to dedicate most of my knitting energies to it without interruption. So rip mercilessly I did–my mom was far more devastated than I. (She’s a product knitter. I’m…not.) I keep looking at the yarn and this picture and I feel a little thrill at all the potential there. Perhaps this summer?

One thought on “Potential

  1. I find that it takes about 4 years for me to get back to a yarn that has made its way into the stash. It either gets knitted in a few months, or it waits out another cycle. Somehow, that’s comforting to know; eventually it will all get knit, if I can just keep myself from buying more!

Comments are closed.