Revisiting 2013

Or revisiting 2013’s goals at least. One of the three posts I actually wrote last year was all about my goals for last year. So I thought I should revisit and see what I actually (didn’t get) finished.

Going in order of that post (pictures are from last year):

Rock Island–blocked and worn and even posted about. Umm…in 2014. But finished!

Aeolean

Aeolian–as of last night, the ends are finally woven in. The blocking will be more of a challenge: it is BIG. I might try the fold-in-half to block method.

Tatted Snowflakes

Tatted snowflakes–mostly done. I finished one big one, started another (hmm….maybe I finished two big ones? I don’t see any starts lying around), and made a little one. This is really more of a vague goal anyways, as my aim is to have enough for my snowflake tree to look “right.” So ongoing. But also, a nice, small project that’s perfect for travel.

Snowman Crossstich

Santa Ornaments

The cross-stitch projects–snowman still in progress, one Santa almost finished (just needs some finishing) and one still not started. But the finished Santa was repaired! The snowman is creeping forward, but it’s a project that requires really good light because of the dark background fabric. It would be nice to finish this all this year, though.

Moms

Delicatos for mom–FINISHED! And finished in 2013, too. (Picture taken in 2013 but never posted.)
Pattern: Delicato by Anne Hanson (Knitspot)
Yarn: Woolen Rabbit Pandora (merino-bamboo-nylon sock blend)
Needles: US 1 (2.25 mm)

Footlong Scarf

Monkey Bread Scarf–still in progress, but on hold. I’ve needed it this year, too–it’s been one of the coldest winters we’ve had on record (top 10). But I deliberately put it on hold while I decided if what I actually want is a cowl. Scarves can be fussy to deal with, especially when the wind’s whipping around. It would be a definite yes on the cowl, except the idea of a infinity scarf (as it’s designed) that can be double-wrapped is really appealing. (Did I mention it was cold this winter?)

Piecework to Read

Jane Austen Knits & Piecework–complete fail. Maybe I could take some of these on vacation…

Ondule–almost finished! More on that in a future post. Pictures then, too.

Quivik

TBD project with Qivuik. Still TBD. I have some ideas though.

Repair - Blue Sweater

Repair - Brown Sweater

Sweater repairs–navy sweater fixed and worn (the fixing has given me no end of satisfaction–it’s still a perfectly good sweater). Brown sweater on the other hand…well, I’m stumped. Surely there has to be a way to repair it, but I haven’t worked out what it is just yet.

Sock Toe

Sock TBD. Ripped, restarted, and…even less finished. This is a problem. I need more socks.

Rose Shawl to frog

Rose shawl–frogged as part of my recent project toss. The yarn and pattern just weren’t playing nice.

Lerwick Lace–future post.

So that’s 2013. I obviously have some leftovers hanging around to work on this year, but I’ve started new projects as well. Which is actually making it easier to revisit the old (for example, the weaving in on Aeolian’s ends yesterday). Apparently, when it comes to my knitting (and other crafting), choice is a good thing! And all those choices? I think I’ll save those for another day. Maybe I can get the hang of this regular blogging thing…

3 thoughts on “Revisiting 2013

    • Thanks! I really need to get the Aeolian blocked so the pattern can really be seen. One of these days. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Those snowflakes have me thinking about tatting. No more hobbies! They’re going to make a beautiful snowflake tree, though. There’s quite a lot of progress in this post; even if it’s not as much as you wanted, it seems you were still getting things done!

Comments are closed.