Finished Object: Rock Island

As I try to get back into the swing of things blog- and knitting-wise, it seemed the easiest first thing to do would be provide some updates on projects previously featured. First (and best) up, the one project I managed to finish last year (2013), Rock Island.

Rock Island Blocking

The obligatory blocking photo. I hadn’t realized ’til I went to block that the top edge isn’t actually straight across.

Finished Rock Island

I always love how delicately lace shawls block out. They can feel so lightweight afterwards, that I almost feel as if they’ve shed pounds in the bath.

Finished Rock Island

Finished Rock Island

Rock Island Closeup

Rock Island Closeup

I did love knitting this. The pattern was a simple repeat, but delicate enough–and at a loose enough gauge–that attention still had to be paid to the knitting. The yarn, which I believe is no longer available, sadly, was a joy to knit with. And as usual for me, the biggest hurdle to a finished object was weaving in the ends–it’s not that I mind the actual weaving in so much, but where do you put them in a delicate lace?!

Pattern: Rock Island by Jared Flood
Yarn: Fibre-Isle Niji [Ravelry link]: a lace / 2 ply of 70% bamboo, 15% bison, 15% cashmere
Needle: US 3 (3 25 mm)

4 thoughts on “Finished Object: Rock Island

Comments are closed.