A Slice of Distraction

I just realized that it’s been a whole week that I’ve had a fully functional computer back yet I hadn’t provided an update! It turned out to be (almost) the best case scenario: easily fixable for not-too-bad a price. I think my jaw actually dropped when they told me how little it was going to cost. Yay for refurbished parts! (And now I cross my fingers that the non-name-brand refurbished part continues to work…) The labor cost was amazingly low—I don’t think the major chain brand would have even looked at it for less than 3 times what I paid for the labor. I was told that the part was pretty easy to replace though; I guess it’s a good thing that I had taken it apart already trying to dry it out and had my dad drill out the stripped screws!

Anyways, that’s the biggest news. The knitting is making pretty decent progress, but it still all looks the same. The end is in sight, but there’s nothing to show, so I’ll offer up a distraction instead:

This would be the first pie I have ever made, crust and all. I will never make such a good pie again: the crust was so flaky it fell apart just trying to cut it. I have no idea how I’ll ever replicate that! The pie is a Kentucky High-Day, which is basically a pecan pie with chocolate chips added. Super easy filling, super rich, super yummy.

As for that knitting? Hopefully by the end of the month. But then I’ll need something new….time to start planning!

One thought on “A Slice of Distraction

  1. Oooh…that is quite a distraction. If you did it once, I’m sure you can do it again! (And really, I can’t imagine that you wouldn’t try….it looks wonderful.)

    So glad the computer fix came through! Technology miracle cures are such a relief for the pocketbook!

Comments are closed.