A Little Delayed

I didn’t mean to be away for so long, truly I didn’t, but between this distraction and that I haven’t managed to put up a post. Alas. Of course, I haven’t managed to get in very much knitting either. It’s just been one of those months. I seem to be finding that April is a month to “get through,” and this year was no exception.

Bike & buggy trail between Fredricksburg and Millersburg
How I spent Sunday (picture from 2010) - I was on the bike side ūüėČ

I am typing this on my ancient and frustrating backup laptop, while my regular machine is sitting silent and still on a shelf patiently waiting diagnosis. Or rather, verification of the problem. See, Thursday past I accidentally (and very unintentionally) dumped a cup of tea on the table, the floor, myself…and my laptop. Before I could unplug it and remove the battery it shut down, a possible short. Despite my best efforts to dry it out, it still won’t start and so I took it to the repair shop this morning. The interesting part here is that I found the shop by way of a friend of my brother’s‚ÄĒhis cousins own/run the shop, and it just so happens that they are Amish. Whatever works. It was a lovely drive down into some of the more rural parts of Ohio, by the way. I can’t believe they thought I wouldn’t want to make the drive‚ÄĒmy brother’s friend had kindly offered to take the computer in for me.

Best case scenario:¬†something¬†fixable for a reasonable price. Worst case: the repair is so expensive it makes more sense to replace it rather than fix it. This last¬†possibility¬†hurts me for two reasons 1) the expense (ouch!) and 2) it seems so incredibly wasteful to be replacing something only just 15 months old. I’m one of those wear it out until it’s useless people. The only reason I replaced the computer I’m currently using as backup is that it wasn’t powerful enough to run the software I needed to learn to increase the¬†likelihood¬†of a new job. The good news to this story is that I shouldn’t lose any files/data, regardless of outcome. I know you’ve heard it before, but I feel compelled to offer this public service announcement:

Regularly Backup Your Computer

I’m perhaps more paranoid than most: in the course of 3 computers I’ve owned I’ve had to replace at least two mother boards (third diagnosis pending; previous mother boards were under¬†warranty) and one hard drive. When I was in school several of my classmates had laptops stolen (out of a supposedly locked studio). Tragedy happens. So I backup on a weekly basis. It just so happens backup day is Wednesday, so I only lost a few hours worth of unimportant notes. If I had more important files/created files more frequently I would backup more frequently, and given the suddenness of the tea incident I’m thinking that I should at least consider it now. I also have a new appreciation for “the cloud.” It is somehow very reassuring to open up Spotify and realize all my playlists are there, no matter what computer I’m on.

Now that I have my backup computer updated with the files/settings I need/want I should be back in business. I’m also getting back in business with the knitting and I’ve finally started working a bit more regularly on my two big projects, Aeolian and Rock Island. The only problem is that Aeolian takes about an hour a row right now, so it’s slooooow going! The light at the end of the tunnel is there, though. Soon!

One thought on “A Little Delayed

  1. Ah, computer troubles. Never fun. I’ve had two computers almost give up the ghost and then come back to life recently, so I’m also more aware of the “backup often” message lately. Fortunately, Branden has set a lot of that up to be automatic so I don’t have to think about it unless there’s a problem. Still, it’s good to remember to double-check. I hope your computer comes back to life, too!

    That does look like a beautiful drive. It would have been fun to be on the horse-and-buggy side. And at least April is over! =)

Comments are closed.