WIP Parade

With the turn of the year, I often find myself making plans or setting goals for the coming year (but never resolutions–I don’t do resolutions). This year, other than some concrete reading goals, I find myself floundering a little more than usual. Maybe it’s just that I don’t have anything “big” to reach for this year, as I did with the Architectural Registration Exam last year. Or maybe I just haven’t put enough thought into it. But as it comes to knitting, I’ve decided I really need to focus on what I already have. So here, to refresh my memory, and perhaps shame me into finishing some things this year, I present my WIP parade.

DSCN9873
Monkey Bread Hat
DSCN9872
Snap Dragon Flip Tops

The first two knits are the newest of the bunch, but also the most urgently needed. Yes, we’re in January and I still don’t have a hat or mittens to wear. Thankfully, I haven’t had to go out that often, it hasn’t been cold more that a couple days, and I’ve been able to make do with some fingerless mitts and a non-matching  scarf. The hat is close–I just need to weave in ends and block it. I will also be knitting a Monkey Bread Scarf to match.

DSCN9726
Rock Island

Started this summer, and stagnated as I moved on to more urgent projects. I was loving it though, so it will take priority after the winter knits are finished.

DSCN9494
Aeolian

Revived this summer, it also was abandoned in favor of other projects. I only have the edging left, so it’s close.

DSCN9344
Ondulé

Sunk by gauge issues, I think I’ve worked them out. Only…the needle I need is in Rock Island. I really love the yarn and pattern, though, so once Rock Island is finished…

DSCN5910
Lerwick Lace Shawl

I don’t want to think about how long it’s been since I last worked on this. If I remember correctly, I was over 1/3 through the edging. I’ve just been too distracted by other projects.

If you look at my Ravelry page, there are a couple other UFOs, but most likely they are all headed for the frog pond, either because the yarn doesn’t work, or I want it for a different project.

And then there’s the yarn. I have a nicely sized stash. I haven’t added to it since May, excepting the yarn which went straight to projects, but I really shouldn’t have added to it then. (At least not based on my current knitting rate.) I’d like to get to some of the yarns though, they’re so lovely. I have several sweater’s worth of yarn–which has already been designated for projects–and quite a bit of laceweight. I also have a couple lace ideas percolating in my brain which I haven’t had a chance to get to yet.

Chances are, I won’t get to everything this year, but it looks like I have plenty of knitting ahead!

2 thoughts on “WIP Parade

  1. That looks like a nice variety of projects. A little that’s mindless, a little that’s challenging. And none of it black! It is nice to clear off the needles with the start of a new year. =)

Comments are closed.