Lace on all Fronts

I’m not sure how it happened, perhaps I just needed a project that wasn’t a complete redo, but I seem to keep knitting lace, lace, and more lace! I kept on with Swan Lake from my last post, finishing out the chart. At that point, I was a little bored with the repetition of the cat’s paw pattern, which also made up the next chart, so I decided to switch projects, to another long-suffering WIP. (They’re pretty much all that way around here at the moment.)

DSCN6642

Aeolian is actually one of the newest projects I have around. I started it during the 2010 Vancouver Olympics, but then let it sit until this week. It took some time to find where I had left off (note to self: it helps to read the directions instead of just blinding jumping in to the charts–that’s how you find out that the first and last stitches aren’t actually on the chart), but I’ve been moving right along since. Or as ‘moving right along’ as rows that take +30 minutes each can be. The above picture is actually old, but this is definitely a ‘spaghetti mess’ of lace, so new pictures wouldn’t look much different. That, and I’m mid-row so getting any sort of non-clumped picture isn’t going to be happening soon!

As much as I’ve been enjoying Aeolian, long rows and all, I’m probably going to be starting a new project this weekend. I’ve not participated in Seasons of Lace recently, for the simple fact that I haven’t been knitting much lace, at least not with any speed, but this summer there’s a Rock Island KAL. And despite the fact that 100s of other knitters (according to Ravelry) are making this and despite my pitiful success rate with KALs, I love the edging so much (well, actually, the band between the center and the edging–is that called the border?), that I decided to join both Seasons of Lace and the KAL. I even have the perfect (I hope–swatching to commence shortly) yarn in the stash:

DSCN6811

Fibre-Isle Niji, aka Louet Mooi. (It appears to no longer be available under either name?)

So now, just one question remains: will any of these (Swan Lake, Aeolian, Rock Island) actually be finished come fall?

2 thoughts on “Lace on all Fronts

  1. I don’t know if they’ll be finished, but they are beautiful! Love the colors on both. Someday I will get back to lace. Until then, I’ll just watch you. =)

Comments are closed.