On progress

Well, the blue sweater is looking somewhat like this these days:

DSCN8442

OK, it’s not quite that bad. I have two completed sleeves.

DSCN8441

And there is a bit of the body started. But…as you can see, quite a bit of it got ripped!

DSCN8446

If you recall, the sweater pretty much didn’t fit lengthwise at all. The sleeves actually turned out to be a really quick fix–there were enough “keep knitting straight” rows between the last increase and the shoulder shaping that I was able to take the extra length entirely out of that portion without messing with the increase rate. Phew.

The body turned out a little more complex. I spent a couple evenings playing with the numbers until I got something that would a) add a little length to the total b)raise the v-neck and c)not screw up the shoulder shaping. And then I spent another evening charting it using the drafting software we use for work. So I have a perfectly to-scale representation. That bit  may have been a little much…

At any rate, all the number-play determined the unfortunate truth that I’d need to rip back almost to the ribbing. Sigh. Other than that little setback, the knitting is actually going pretty well. The only “difficult” part is the cable. Thanks to the nifty little number chart I made while reconfiguring the new cable slant rate, I don’t even have to pay close attention to the pattern; I can just look at the chart and the row number of the cable pattern to determine if I’m on a slant row or if it’s time to start neck or shoulder shaping. It’s perfect TV knitting, and so has been assigned to the morning pre-work rotation.

Speaking of work, I think we were all a little lost at work this afternoon: the last major immediate deadline came and went without incident! Sure we’re still busy, but the next big project deadline (that I’m aware of) is the first of February. Very exciting to have a little breather–it’s just enough that I’ll be able to take a week off in October. I wasn’t able to use my second week of vacation this summer, so I’m really looking forward to this. I’m already dreaming of all the projects I could start…of course, maybe I should concentrate on finishing a few first!

One thought on “On progress

  1. Oh dear. That is quite a bit of ripping. I’m glad that you got through it, though…I find that projects usually leap ahead once I just get over the frogging and get on with it. As far as I know, there is no better time to dream up new projects than while knitting on old ones. =)

    Yay for a breather at work! I can imagine that you really need it after the long slog. Enjoy!

Comments are closed.