not much going on

I’ve been knitting, really I have, but it’s just not happening that quickly. Everything seems to be a bit in the “blob” stage. I do like the way the purple and silver complement each other in the knitting basket, however.

DSCN7065

One slightly more productive venture I’ve been on lately is bread baking. I’ve always enjoyed baking bread. A year or two ago I started baking bread for breakfast. It got less fun—the feeling of obligation, that I had to bake bread now if I wanted it for breakfast. That is, it was less fun until I received a copy of Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day. I won’t say that it’s actually all that much faster in total to make the breads in this book (the recipe I was using before mixed up pretty fast, didn’t require kneading and made multiple loaves), but the ability to spread out the mixing from the baking over multiple days tricks my mind into thinking it’s less of a chore. Then of course, there’s the variety. Almost all (maybe all, I haven’t read every recipe) of the breads use whole wheat, but there’s so many variations: whole wheat loaf, rye bread, challah, strudel. And my personal favorite: cinnamon-raisin. Actually, I found that on the web site, here. It’s actually easier to make than I expected.

After the bread has been mixed up, allowed to rise and then chilled overnight (optional, but so much easier to work with), I roll out a piece to a nice rectangle and cover it with cinnamon, sugar, and raisins.

DSCN7168

Next, it gets all rolled up and set in a bread pan.

DSCN7171

After a second rising, it gets baked and comes out in a nice cinnamony-raisiny loaf.

DSCN7172

Here I have to confess my inability to quite perfectly follow baking directions: there’s supposed to be an egg wash on top before it bakes (to give a nice crust). I don’t bother. Regardless, it’s quite yummy toasted with a little bit of butter. It’s always nice to have a little homemade start to the day!

One thought on “not much going on

  1. That bread looks wonderful! I’ve had to go wheat-free in the past year, and I really miss baking bread. (You can bake gluten-free bread, but it’s a bit more of a production, and it isn’t intuitive…yet.) Looks like a great way to start the day. =)

Comments are closed.