to tide us over…

I’ve managed to stay faithful to my two most recent lace projects (steadfastly ignoring all the many other projects on the needles). Unfortunately, I haven’t had a great deal of time to work on either of the two, and they look much as they did a week ago.

Fortunately, I realized that I never shared my winter yarn purchases. I received a gift card for Christmas to the local yarn shop, and I may have gone a little overboard…

First, was the basket. My mom had seen these when she’d purchased the gift card, and thought I might be interested. They’re handmade in Ghana, Africa and lovely, all in bright colors. I couldn’t resist. This has become my knitting basket, and has proven quite effective for keeping my knitting in order. I keep it lined to prevent snagging my yarn.

DSCN6548

Then there was the Mountain Colors Winter Lace (colorway Ruby River) which I’d been eying for a while, but without a specific project in mind. I’m still not sure what I’m going to use it for, but I have a few ideas. There are 1200 yards, so I have a few options.

DSCN6814

And then…well, maybe it was the gift card, maybe it was the sale on at the time (buy one, get the second of equal or lessor value 50% off), or maybe it was the yarn fumes…

DSCN6811

…but I found myself walking out of the store with a 660m skein of Fibre-Isle Niji (aka Mooi from Louet – what I bought is actually labeled as Niji).Yes, it’s expensive. No, I have no idea what I’m going to use it for. However, Anne has mentioned this yarn (and others from Fibre-Isle) so favorably, and with the bamboo/bison/cashmere blend it is very soft and luxurious. Of course, between this and the silk for my Evenstar, I’ve pretty much decimated the yarn budget for the year…I guess it’s good that I have quite a lot of stash to work my way through!

One thought on “to tide us over…

  1. I love the basket! I am in dire need of a knitting basket for the living room. The yarn is beautiful, too…on sale with a gift card is the best time to get the expensive stuff. =)

Comments are closed.