a little delayed, part 2

Thanks to my Olympic knitting, I was also behind in starting on my latest KAL adventure. (Side note: why do I do these things? I never manage to keep up…)

I have been reading Susan Pandorf’s blog for some time and purchased a number of patterns (although I’d only actually started one before the KAL), so when I saw she was doing a Lord of the Rings inspired KAL I was intrigued. Even more so when I saw that the theme would be “Evenstar” and that it would be a circular “Pi” shawl. Despite my past failings at these things–and the delay that would occur thanks to the Olympics–I capitulated and signed up.

DSCN6648

This is the start, in Blue Moon Fiber Arts Silk Thread II, colorway Winter Solstice. I believe this is actually the third start. For some reason I can never start a circular shawl in less than three attempts. Sigh. (Made worse in this case by the very slippery nature of the silk.) I used my favorite circular cast on, the disappearing loop method. It’s a bit fiddly but I like the result and that I don’t have to worry about joining in the round.

I’m actually halfway through Clue 2, (the KAL is up to Clue 3), but if there’s one thing I’m more behind on right now than the knitting, it’s pictures! With the time change and plenty of forecast sun, I hope to remedy that soon, though.

One thought on “a little delayed, part 2

  1. I think you’re not alone in falling for this set of designs…I can’t believe how many people she has signed up! And if you enjoy the knitting, it doesn’t matter if you keep up with the knitalong. Looks beautiful, and I agree that cast on is perfect!

Comments are closed.