A Christmastime Adventure

First things first – I finished the shawl on time and my mom loves it!  She was absolutely astonished that I would do such a thing…so I may have unintentionally created a standard for myself which I will never again be able to match.  Opps.   I was able to catch some shoots in uncharacteristic NE Ohio December sunshine:

DSCN3893

DSCN3894

DSCN3884

Pattern: Wing-‘o-the-Moth (Anne Hanson)
Yarn: Rowan Kidsilk Haze, Color 588
Needles: US 2 (2.75 mm)
Modifications: None, although I did add extra yo’s in the bind-off to make a stretchier edge.
More pictures are on Ravelry.

Now, I believe I promised to share a recent Christmastime Adventure.  Every year, for as long as I can remember, my mom selects some Christmas outing or performance to attend.  We’ve been to see Christmas lights, historic homes decorated for the Holidays, and performances of the Christmas Carol and the Nutcracker.  Of course, over the years it has become hard to find something we haven’t done before.  This year, however, my mom and I were able to find something completely different – Dickens’ Victorian Village.

Apparently about two years ago, some residents of Cambridge, Ohio came up with the idea to turn the downtown into a showcase of Victorian-era scenes, inspired by the works of Charles Dickens.  Over the years, artisans have created dozens of figures and placed them on display over the Holidays.  This year there was also a light display at the county courthouse (in the middle of downtown).  It was a really neat display, if a bit cold (and windy!), and I thought I’d share some of my favorite scenes.

DSCN3841
The Knitter

DSCN3845
Scrooge and Marley

DSCN3847
The Sled Maker

DSCN3849
The Apple Seller

I hope you and yours have all had a wonderful Christmas season and continue to a healthy and prosperous New Year!

One thought on “A Christmastime Adventure

Comments are closed.