a little Christmas knits

I’ve not been one to do the whole “deadline” knitting thing, i.e. birthday or Christmas (or holiday of choice) knitting. That would be primarily because I’m a terrible procrastinator. This served me well through school (term papers, cramming for tests) but doesn’t work so well with knitting. No matter how you slice it, unless it’s a bulky hat on jumbo needles, knitting takes more time than the few hours available to the last-minute crafter. However, in the middle of October, I decided that the perfect thing for my mom for Christmas would be a knitted lace shawl. Given my typical aversion to such deadline knitting, I clearly was temporarily delusional, likely due to excessive studying. I even had a fleeting thought that I could have this shawl finished by Thanksgiving. Ahem.

I did know right away that I wanted to use Kidsilk Haze, so I made my way to the yarn store, and bought enough for a typical lace shawl. The major question was to be which lace shawl. I spent about a week debating triangular vs. rectangular, before settling on triangular and then several more evenings browsing Ravelry before finally choosing to go with my first thought: a Wing-‘o-the-Moth. Moth was my first big lace project, and I knew that it would be doable in the time I had.

DSCN3786

This is the second start. The first was much too open – even for lace. There was also a third (in fact, I don’t think I’ve frogged it yet), which was tighter than this. The third was closer to my shawl in overall size, but the pattern was harder to read. Also, a bit distressingly, apparently I’m an even looser knitter. My first moth was on US 3’s (3.25 mm). This is on US 2’s (2.75 mm). I’m beginning to worry that at the rate I’m going, I’ll be knitting bulky knits on 2’s within a year!

DSCN3788

I will admit, I’m probably not as far as I should be. I’m in a happy state of denial. Or I was before I looked at the calendar today!  It’s looking like a marathon knitting weekend is coming up…

2 thoughts on “a little Christmas knits

  1. I don’t tend to do holiday knits, either. Sometimes, but not often. I prefer to give my gifts at random throughout the year (which is a sneaky way of saying that I don’t want to wait until December if I finish the item in June!).

    The shawl is beautiful. I love the color, and the airy look of the Kidsilk. It looks like you’re pretty far along; you should be able to make it in time. Do you have any long plane flights ahead of you? Good luck with the deadline knitting!

    I just noticed the snowflakes…they’re a fun touch, though I thought there was something wrong with my eyes for a minute there. =)

Comments are closed.