another day of history

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I’ve posted. Work’s been steady, neither slow nor too busy (for both of which we are very grateful), but I can’t blame my lack of knitting and blogging on that. Life’s just been busy in general, and I feel like I’m having trouble keeping up with just about anything. However, there was no way I was going to miss today…

DSCN3665

It’s always seemed a shame to me that so many Americans so often don’t exercise their right to vote.  It seems like whenever another country votes for the first or second time (Iraq springs to mind as an example), so many of the citizen turn out and are so excited.  But in the past I havn’t felt like we in the U.S. have really appreciated this opportunity.  Not this year.  I am very happy to say that I actually had to wait nearly an hour to vote this morning!  The experts are expecting record turnouts.  Which makes me happy.  Regardless of the outcome, I am really happy to see that so many people are involved this year.  Not everyone will be happy and we may even have buyer’s remorse a few months from now (regardless of outcome), but at least we will have collectively taken the fundamental action of expressing our opinion about the future of our country.

