another post, another completion

I have to confess, I was rather blown away by the response to my Mare oscuro. Thank you for all your kind compliments.  A couple people mentioned, here and on Ravelry that they would like the pattern.  I didn’t expect that sort of response, so I’ll have to think about it.  I did manage to keep notes for myself, but my notes aren’t necessarily…reliable.  If I do end up writing it up, I’d most likely make it available through Ravelry as that seems easiest.

I was also pleasantly surprised to be given this:
by blog_blethers. I don’t quite feel worthy!

The Rules:
The rules for award acceptance are as follows:
1. The winner can put the logo on his/her website/blog.
2. Add a link to the person who gave you this award.
3. Nominate at least 7 other websites/blogs.
4. Provide links of the nominated websites/blogs.
5. Leave a message at each website owner that you’ve nominated

Unfortunately…I’m rather shy about this sort of thing. Especially the part about nominating other blogs.  And I read so many that I enjoy that I don’t think I could ever limit it to just 7.  And then I’d feel bad about leaving someone out.  You see the dilemma?   So instead, I just offer a gracious “thank you” to blog_blethers.

My Summer of Startitis is finally yielding some results: I have another finished project, and a third nipping at it’s heels.  I suppose in some way, startitis could be seen as the spring planting, the sowing of the seeds.  The knitter moves from project to project, nourishing each in turn, until at last the fall harvest of finished projects, one after another.  And just in time too – with fall comes cooler weather and new batches of tempting sweater patterns!

DSCN3523

DSCN3528

Pattern: Elm Row by Anne Hanson (Knitspot)
Yarn: Knitting Notions Classic Merino Supersock – this was a very enjoyable yarn to knit with.  It’s very “springy,” and in combination with this pattern, provided an addictive knit…when I wasn’t distracted by other projects!
Needle: 3.25 mm/ U.S. 3

Modifications: Since I used a heavier yarn than called for, I only knit (3) repeats across instead of the (4) the pattern calls for.  I worked the number of repeats down the length the pattern calls for, making a longer scarf than the original.

(As a side note, I was at my LYS today and saw – and fondled – some of the Niji recommended in the pattern…it was a bit difficult to walk away from it.  But I really don’t need two Elm Rows!)

3 thoughts on “another post, another completion

  1. Elm Row is beautiful! The colour’s stunning. I reckon a wardrobe could easily cope with 2 such fine scarves;o)

    And thank you for considering publishing the pattern for the shawl. Bet there are loads of downloads if you do…

Comments are closed.