olympic lace

As is usual with knit-alongs (in this case Ravelympics), I seem to be slow off the start. Usually, I don’t quite have my act together. This time, it was more of a matter of work. Per the rules, I was allowed to start 8:00 a.m. EDT, at the moment the Opening Ceremonies were starting in Beijing. Only, I was already at work at that point – counting down the minutes until I could leave. Not only did I have knitting waiting, but it was a Friday and a slow one at that. Fortunately, I get off work early on Fridays (Mon.-Thurs have longer work hours), so I was able to start in the afternoon. All I really got finished before the Opening Ceremonies were broadcast locally however, was the cast on. Cast-ons are the trickiest part of the process for me. I’m a loose knitter except for casting-on…so that can typically require multiple restarts to get one right. This project has a provisional cast on however, so I only had to make one stab at it, but I do find provisional cast-ons a bit fiddly. At any rate, I was ready to just knit during the evening. I didn’t get quite as much done as I had hoped, as the artistic portion of the ceremonies was so dazzling (about my favorite that I’ve ever seen). After about 24 hours, this was all I had:

DSCN3311

Close-up:

DSCN3304

Sunday turned out to be much more productive, however. I also had today off (using up some vacation time), so I’ve made a good deal more progress, and should be finished with the first part of the first half of the stole tonight:

DSCN3313

Of course, tomorrow I have to go back to work. While I’m happy with what I have done so far, I’m truthfully not sure if I’ll get this finished by the end of the Closing Ceremonies. I’ll have to finish the first half by the end of the day Friday to be on track, and I don’t know if that can happen. On the one hand, there’s plenty of Olympics to watch knit to in the evenings, on the other hand, I’m finessing this pattern as I go. I think I have the right proportions, but I’m not sure (this first part is looking shorted than I expected) and I’m really unsure if I’ll have enough yarn, as currently planned. I’m trying to maximize my yarn usage, and with only a partial swatch as my guide, I can’t be sure if one more or one less repeat of any given section would be better. I won’t know for sure until I finish the first half where I stand. Worse case, I would have to frog back to where I am now. (Hmm…maybe I should put in a lifeline, just in case…)

In non-knitting news, look at the pretty peaches and blackberries my mom picked from a local farm. Fresh peaches have to be one of my favorite summer fruits, along with blueberries. She’s planning on freezing them for pies and cobblers this winter.  I just want to eat them all now!

DSCN3293

DSCN3288

One thought on “olympic lace

Comments are closed.